NAT: Around Iceland

Hægri Vinstri

Reykjavik Area & Reykjanes

The Greater Reykjavik Area

Area 1,062.2 km2 (410.1 sq mi)
Population (2016) 216,940
Density 204.2/km2 (529/sq mi)

Reykjavik is the capital of Iceland and the only city as such in the country. Roughly 123 thousand people live in Reykjavik but some 217 thousand people in the Greater Reykjavik Area. The Greater Reykjavik Area is made up of Reykjavik and six municipalities around it; Kopavogur, Hafnarfjordur, Gardabaer, Mosfellsbaer, Seltjarnarnes and Kjosarhreppur.

Over 60% of Iceland’s population live in the Greater Reykjavik Area, but that area is only just over 1% of the total size of the country. Reykjavik city has a latitude of 64°08’ N, making it the world’s northernmost capital of a sovereign state.

Some of the biggest tourist attractions in Reykjavik include Harpa concert hall, Laugavegur shopping street, Hallgrimskirkja church, Perlan and Heidmork nature reserve.

Snowy Reykjavik.

Reykjanes Peninsula

Area 829 km2 (320 sq mi)
Population (2007) 20,300
Density 24.5/km2 (63/sq mi)

The Reykjanes peninsula is made up of 5 municipalities; Gardur, Grindavik, Reykjanesbaer, Sandgerdi and Vogar, with the biggest one being Reykjanesbaer. There are around twenty thousand inhabitants on the peninsula in total.

One of the most famous attractions on Reykjanes peninsula is the Blue Lagoon, near to Grindavik.

Reykjanes peninsula is a Geopark and the only place in the world where the Mid-Atlantic Ridge is visible above sea level. The Reykjanes Geopark has 55 areas listed as geosites, such as Gunnuhver mud pool, Eldey island, Kleifarvatn lake and Reykjanes lighthouse.

Photo Credit: Íslandsstofa

Links in Reykjavik Area & Reykjanes